International Society of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy (ISAC) Awards

ISAC Travel Grants

ISAC Member Society applicants who submit an abstract for the 31st ICC – 4th GCCMID 2019 and are under 35 years old are invited to apply for an ISAC Travel Grant. Each successful awardee will be granted 1,000 USD towards the costs of their travel to Dubai and their hotel accommodation as well as free congress registration. They will also be presented with an award certificate during the congress.

All young investigators from an ISAC Member Society who submit an abstract are encouraged to apply. The award will be based on the abstract submitted by an applicant who should be the presenting author (poster or oral presentation).

Abstract Submission Now Closed!

In addition to submitting an abstract in the usual way, please also send the following electronically:

  • A letter of application
  • A copy of your abstract(s) and abstract number(s)
  • A short CV
  • A copy of your passport
  • Proof of membership of an ISAC Member Society (letter or email from Member Society President / Secretariat).

The above should be sent electronically to the ISAC Secretariat (  The application deadline is 27 August 2019. Successful applicants will be notified as soon after the deadline as possible.

ISAC Tom Bergan and John David Williams Memorial Awards

Professor Tom Bergan served ISAC as President (1997-2001), Secretary-General (1989-1997) and Executive Member (1985-1989). His significant contributions included spearheading the establishment of the ISAC journal; International Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy.

Professor John David Williams served ISAC as Associate Secretary (1977-78), Secretary-General (1979-89) and President (1989-93). He was the first Editor-in-Chief of the ISAC journal, International Journal of Antimicrobial Chemotherapy

The two highest scoring abstracts submitted via ISAC Young Investigator Travel Award application process from countries with limited resources will be awarded the Tom Bergan Memorial Award and the John David Williams Memorial Award in memory of two former Presidents of ISAC.

ISAC Masaaki Ohkoshi Award

The Late Professor Masaaki Ohkoshi
The Masaaki Ohkoshi Award was first presented in 1995 and has been presented at every ICC since. It is for the best clinical study on the subject of urinary tract infections published during a two-year period. The first three awards were sponsored by Professor Masaaki Ohkoshi and all subsequent awards have been sponsored by the Japanese UTI Committee.

The 13th presentation of the award will cover the years 2017 and 2018, and will be awarded during the 31st ICC which will be held in conjunction with the 4th GCCMID in Dubai on 6-9 November 2019. The name of the recipient will be published in the Final Congress Programme, ISAC Newsletter and ISAC website.

Nomination procedure:
The successful paper will be selected on the basis of originality of the idea, study design and importance in the care of patients. Papers, including an English version, should be sent electronically to Professor Florian Wagenlehner ( chair of the ISAC UTI Working Group by the deadline of 27 August 2019.

Yen Award

Professor Chi-Zhong Yen was born on 6 December 1888 in Taijing, China and died on 13 October 1974 in Taipei, Taiwan. He graduated from the Faculty of Medicine, Tokyo Imperial University of Japan in 1915 and then studied bacteriology at the Institute of Infectious Diseases of this University. He moved to Taiwan in January 1947. Professor Yen was appointed Professor at the National Taiwan University College of Medicine (NTUMC) and retired in July 1973. For 26 years he led the education and research programs of microbiology at the NTUMC. Consequent on Professor Yen’s extensive experience in the prevention of infectious diseases and in medical education, he was invited to serve as the Dean of NTUMC and later as the Director of Taiwan Serum Vaccine Institute. In 1968, Professor Yen gathered together experts in the fields of medicine, agriculture, science and industry and founded the Chinese Society of Microbiology. He was the first, second, and third President of the Society (1968-1973). He also served four times as the Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Microbiology, Republic of China (now Journal of Microbiology, Immunology, and Infection [JMII]).


The Award worth 2500 USD is sponsored by the Taiwan Society of Microbiology and will be awarded to the best lecturer during the International Congress of Chemotherapy and Infection on any subject related to clinical microbiology and infectious diseases as judged by the award committee.